Bon Iver playing Holocene and Skinny Love


Bon Iver:

When I was out yesterday picking up supplies for Buck I pulled into McDonald’s  because there is nothing more a dog loves then a couple of burgers plain please. I don’t care where you are at on the planet you pull in to a burger joint and Buck is front and center he knows what coming!  So I get #1 for me and a couple of plain for the Boy get back to the truck to enjoy our Happy Meal. Listening to the radio I hear this song like folk music but very soothing I’m wondering who is this? Never heard it before. (impossible to have heard of every thing) Listening to the radio (XRT 93.1) the DJ mentions the name Bon Iver. So get back to the office and check this out.

The name Bon Iver is derived from the French phrase meaning “good winter” or “have a good winter”. The album was recorded in a remodeled veterinarian clinic in Fall Creek, Wisconsin, which was bought by Vernon and his brother in 2008. It was converted into April Base Studios, built mainly over the defunct swimming pool attached to the clinic. Vernon’s reason for recording in the location was that “it’s been a wonderful freedom, working in a place we built. It’s also only three miles from the house I grew up in, and just ten minutes from the bar where my parents met.”

On December 11, 2008, Bon Iver performed “Skinny Love” on the Late Show with David Letterman. On January 26, 2009, “Skinny Love” was announced at #21 by the Australian national radio station Triple J in the annual Hottest 100 countdown of the previous year’s best songs.  On November 30, the band earned four nominations for the 54th Grammy Awards including Best New Artist, Best Alternative Music Album for their self-titled album Bon Iver, and both Song of the Year and Record of the Year for “Holocene”.

Lyrics to Holocene:

“Some way, baby, it’s part of me, apart from me”

You’re laying waste to Halloween

You fucked it, friend, it’s on its head, it struck the street

You’re in Milwaukee, off your feet

And at once I knew I was not magnificent

Strayed above the highway aisle

(Jagged vacance, thick with ice)

I could see for miles, miles, miles

3rd and Lake, it burnt away, the hallway

Was where we learned to celebrate

Automatic bought the years you’d talk for me

That night you played me ‘Lip Parade’

Not the needle, nor the thread, the lost decree

Saying nothing, that’s enough for me

And at once I knew I was not magnificent

Hulled far from the highway aisle

(Jagged vacance, thick with ice)

I could see for miles, miles, miles

Christmas night, it clutched the light, the hallow bright

Above my brother, I and tangled spines

We smoked the screen to make it what it was to be

Now to know it in my memory

And at once I knew I was not magnificent

High above the highway aisle

(Jagged vacance, thick with ice)

I could see for miles, miles, miles

Lyrics to Skinny Love:

Come on skinny love just last the year
Pour a little salt we were never here
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Staring at the sink of blood and crushed veneer

I tell my love to wreck it all
Cut out all the ropes and let me fall
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Right in the moment this order’s tall

I told you to be patient
I told you to be fine
I told you to be balanced
I told you to be kind
In the morning I’ll be with you
But it will be a different “kind”
I’ll be holding all the tickets
And you’ll be owning all the fines

Come on skinny love what happened here
Suckle on the hope in lite brassiere
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Sullen load is full; so slow on the split

I told you to be patient
I told you to be fine
I told you to be balanced
I told you to be kind
Now all your love is wasted?
Then who the hell was I?
Now I’m breaking at the britches
And at the end of all your lines

Who will love you?
Who will fight?
Who will fall far behind?

Band Members:

Justin Vernon- Singer song writer , guitar

Michael Noyce- vocals, baritone guitar, guitar

Sean Carey- Drums, vocals, piano

Videos uploaded by U Tube user 

Bon Iver Site

Say What?

